HND Health and Social Care

What entry requirements do I need?

You will need a minimum of: Minimum of 48 UCAS points (120 old system) from a BTEC Level 3 Diploma or Extended Diploma / A Levels / Foundation Diploma / Access Diploma in a related subject; if English is not your first language, an IELTS score of 5.5 with a 5 in writing; proof of qualifications; a satisfactory reference.

What will I learn?

The HND in Health and Social Care is a challenging programme which focuses on transferable values, knowledge, understanding and skills relevant to supporting any service user group in any setting.

Studying over two-years, you will gain a broad understanding of the challenges, topics and issues that health care professionals may face within the care sector.

The vocational nature of this course will give you first-hand experience of what it is like to work in the sector; and if you already work in a care role, will enable you to adopt theory and practice into everyday working situations.

Over the two years you will study a variety of theory and practical sessions including lectures about health and social care principles, discussions about complimentary therapies, and health and safety in the workplace. You will understand communication in the health and social care setting, study psychology, while guest lecturers and visits to care homes will help you learn from real-life examples. You will also study modules that give you the opportunity to develop your personal and professional qualities, enhancing your employment prospects after the course.

During the course you will study a range of topics including:

  • Communicating in health & social care
  • Principles of health & social care practice
  • Health & Safety in the health & care workplace
  • Personal and professional development
  • Working in partnerships in health & social care
  • Managing human and financial resources
  • Psychology for health & social care
  • Research project
  • Complimentary therapies
  • Supporting significant life events
  • Employability skills
  • Understanding the learning process
  • Managing quality in health & social care
  • Health promotion

What could I progress on to?

Successful completion of the courses can allow for progression onto the Level 6 qualification here at the University Centre Hastings, or enter into employment in the sector, or continue in employment, with possible progression into supervisory and lower management roles.

Additional Course Details for 18/19

  • Study Year Year 1
    Course code 11001Y1
    Course name BTEC Level 4 HND Health & Social Care - Y1
    Campus Station Plaza
    Study mode Full-Time
    Days Monday + Tuesday
    Start date 24/09/18
    Duration 30 week (s)

Additional Course Details for 19/20

  • Study Year Year 1
    Course code 11001Y1
    Course name BTEC Level 4 HND Health & Social Care - Y1
    Campus Station Plaza
    Study mode Full-Time
    Days Monday + Tuesday
    Start date 23/09/19
    Duration 30 week (s)

E-News Signup


merged logosescg

merger heading

Sussex Downs College and Sussex Coast College have merged. We are now both part of the East Sussex College Group.

If you would like to know more about the merger details, please click below to find out more

find out more ignore



Sometimes it can be difficult to decide the right level at which to study. The guide below will help you work which level is best for you.

Entry Level

These courses are for students who want to start progressing up the qualifications levels or have no previous qualifications.

Vocational Level 1

You must have a mixture of grades E to G at GCSE to study at this level.

Vocational Level 2

You must have two grade D's and two grade E's at GCSE or a relevant level 1 qualification to study at this level.

Vocational Level 3

These courses are equivalent to A levels, you must have at least four GCSE's at grade C or above or a relevant level 2 qualification.

A Levels

A levels are level 3 courses, you must have or expect 5 A-C grades at GCSE level including Maths and English.
Foundation Degree and Degree Our university courses typically require a relevant level 3 qualification or 120 UCAS points.