24 Plus Loan

Advanced Learner Loan applicable

Level 3 Certificate in Health & Social Care

What entry requirements do I need?

You will need a minimum of: 5 GCSEs grade A*- C (grade 4 - 9) including English and maths. DBS check will be required.

What will I learn?

The content of this qualification has been designed to ensure it supports progression towards higher study. In addition, employers and professional bodies have been involved in order to confirm that the content is also appropriate for those interested in working in the sector.

The mandatory content of the qualification incorporates topics relevant across the health and social care sector:

  • Human Lifespan Development
  • Working in Health and Social Care
  • Meeting Individual Care and Support Needs.

The Pearson BTEC Level 3 National Extended Certificate is for learners who are interested in learning about the health and social care sector as part of a balanced study programme. It is equivalent in size to one A Level. The qualification supports access to a range of higher education courses possibly, but not exclusively, in health and social care.

In this qualification most units in the sector are externally assessed. Each external assessment for a BTEC National is linked to a specific unit. The styles of external assessment used for qualifications in the Health and Social Care suite are:

  • examinations – all learners take the same assessment at the same time, normally with a written outcome
  • set tasks – learners take the assessment during a defined window and demonstrate understanding through completion of a vocational task.

Synoptic assessment requires learners to demonstrate that they can identify and use effectively,in an integrated way, an appropriate selection of skills, techniques, concepts, theories and knowledge from across the whole sector as relevant to a key task.

What could I progress on to?

Learners are able to progress to the National Diploma in Health and Social Care.

There will be a charge for a DBS ( formally CRB Criminal Records Bureau) check.

In order to meet the requirements of the qualification, learners must undertake supervised adult care work placement of a minimum of 200 hours in one adult care setting.

Additional Course Details for 19/20

  • Course code 14894
    Course name Level 3 Extended Certificate in Health & Social Care
    Campus Station Plaza
    Study mode Full-Time
    Start date 09/09/19
    Duration 36 week (s)

E-News Signup


merged logosescg

merger heading

Sussex Downs College and Sussex Coast College have merged. We are now both part of the East Sussex College Group.

If you would like to know more about the merger details, please click below to find out more

find out more ignore



Sometimes it can be difficult to decide the right level at which to study. The guide below will help you work which level is best for you.

Entry Level

These courses are for students who want to start progressing up the qualifications levels or have no previous qualifications.

Vocational Level 1

You must have a mixture of grades E to G at GCSE to study at this level.

Vocational Level 2

You must have two grade D's and two grade E's at GCSE or a relevant level 1 qualification to study at this level.

Vocational Level 3

These courses are equivalent to A levels, you must have at least four GCSE's at grade C or above or a relevant level 2 qualification.

A Levels

A levels are level 3 courses, you must have or expect 5 A-C grades at GCSE level including Maths and English.
Foundation Degree and Degree Our university courses typically require a relevant level 3 qualification or 120 UCAS points.